Saturday, May 16, 2009
These days lays chips is a so hot issue everywhere in pakistan.No one can decide if its haram or halal.
Lays Masala flavor has E631 flavor enhancer
E631 is obtained by three different sources
1. from sardine fish
2.from yeast use in making beer as a bi product
3.from animal fat.
How can anyone be sure that lays source of e631 is halal?
According to Pepsi cola they import raw material from IFF but when IFF was asked about haram ingredients exported to Pakistan for lays,they simply denied!
Now on whom to believe?
i would just say that AVOID LAYS! as islam says "donot eat those things about which you are not sure if they are haram or halal,like we should avoid prawns as most of scholars believe that they are haram as scientists have not found it out yet if its a fish or some other organism"
i would like to share a research made by DR.Amjad Ali [United States]
you'll get the answer of all your questions here.
According to the LAY'S advertisement in Pakistan's newspaper they are making halal products.They've got a FATWA from Jamia Ashrafia.But When few reporters of a local newspaper went to verify the news about fatwa,authorities of this religious institution looked shocked!They also released a press release mentioning that LAYS are using their name without any permission. They also made it clear that they are ignorant of any such fatwa given by them.
This shows that LAYS is haram! and the company is lying. AVOID THEM!!!